TO BE INTRODUCED IN THE RAJYA SABHA

Bill No. III of 2019

THE CONSTITUTION (SCHEDULED TRIBES)

ORDER (AMENDMENT) BILL, 2019

A

BILL

further to amend the Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order, 1950 to include certain Communities in the list of the Scheduled Tribes in relation to the State of Assam.

BE it enacted by Parliament in the Sixty-ninth Year of the Republic of India as follows:-

1. This Act may be called the Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order (Amendment) Short title. Act, 2019.

In the Schedule to the Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order, 1950, in PART II. – Assam, in paragraph II, after entry 14, the following entries shall be inserted, namely :—

Amendment of Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order, 1950.

C.O. 22.

"15. Chutiya

- 16. Matak
- 17. Moran
- 18. Koch Rajbongshi
- 10 19. Tai Ahom

20	3 6 1	D 1	•
20	Mal	Pał	naria

21. Kawar

22. Lodha

23. Baiga

24. Nagasia

25. Bhil

26. Gorait

27. Halba

28. Majwar

29. Dhanwar

30. Asur

31. Pradhan

32. Khond

33. Korwa

34. Kherwar

35. Chero

36. Koya

37. Birhor

38. Parja

39. Mirdha

40. Kishan

41. Chik Baraik

42. Kol

43. Saora

44. Birjia

45. Damdari

46. Bonda

47. Mahli

48. Shabar 49. Kharia

50. Gond

51. Munda

52. Oraon

53. Bedia

54. Santal

55. Bhumij".

5

10

15

20

25

30

35

STATEMENT OF OBJECTS AND REASONS

Scheduled Tribes have been defined in clause (25) of article 366 of the Constitution as "such tribes or tribal communities or parts of or groups within such tribes or tribal communities as are deemed under article 342 to be Scheduled Tribes for the purposes of this Constitution.".

2. Article 342 of the Constitution provides as under:-

"342. Scheduled Tribes.—(1) The President may with respect to any State or Union territory, and where it is a State, after consultation with the Governor thereof, by public notification, specify the tribes or tribal communities or parts of or group within tribes or tribal communities which shall for the purposes of this Constitution be deemed to be Scheduled Tribes in relation to that State or Union territory, as the case may be.

(2) Parliament may by law include in or exclude from the list of Scheduled Tribes specified in a notification issued under clause (1) any tribe or tribal community or part of or group within any tribe or tribal community, but save as aforesaid a notification issued under the said clause shall not be varied by any subsequent notification.".

3. In accordance with the provision of article 342 of the Constitution, the first list of Scheduled Tribes in respect of State of Assam was notified, *vide* the Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order, 1950. List of Scheduled Tribes of the State of Assam has been modified through the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes Order (Amendment) Act, 1956, the North Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) Act, 1971, the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes Orders (Amendment) Act, 1976, the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes Orders (Amendment) Act, 2002 and the Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order (Amendment) Act, 2003.

4. At present, there are seventy-eight numbers of communities and synonyms appearing in the list of Scheduled Tribes of the State of Assam.

5. On the basis of recommendation of the State of Assam, it has been decided for inclusion of the following communities in the Schedule to the Constitution Scheduled Tribes Order, 1950, in Part II.— Assam, in paragraph II, after entry 14, namely:—

"15. Chutiya 16. Matak 17. Moran 18. Koch Rajbongshi 19. Tai Ahom 20. Mal Paharia 21. Kawar 22. Lodha 23. Baiga 24. Nagasia 25. Bhil 26. Gorait 27. Halba 28. Majwar 29. Dhanwar 30. Asur 31. Khond 32. Korwa 33. Kherwar 34. Chero

35. Koya 36. Birhor 37. Parja 38. Mirdha 39. Kishan 40. Chik Baraik 41. Kol 42. Saora 43. Pradhan 44. Birjia 45. Damdari 46. Bonda 47. Mahli 48. Shabar 49. Kharia 50. Gond 51. Munda 52. Oraon 53. Bedia 54. Santal 55. Bhumij".

6. Therefore, it is proposed to amend PART-II of the Schedule to the Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order, 1950 relating to the State of Assam to grant Scheduled Tribes status to the communities mentioned in paragraph 5.

7. The Bill seeks to achieve the aforesaid objects.

New Delhi; *The 8th January*, 2019. JUAL ORAM

FINANCIAL MEMORANDUM

The Bill seeks to amend the Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order, 1950, by amending the list of Scheduled Tribes of Assam, as under:—

- "1. Koch Rajbongshi
- 2. Tai Ahom
- 3. Chutiya
- 4. Matak
- 5. Moran
- 6. Mal Paharia Tribes
- 7. Kawar Tribes
- 8. Lodha Tribes
- 9. Baiga Tribes
- 10. Nagasia Tribes
- 11. Bhil Tribes
- 12. Gorait Tribes
- 13. Halba Tribes
- 14. Majwar Tribes
- 15. Dhanwar Tribes
- 16. Asur Tribes
- 17. Pradhan Tribes
- 18. Khond Tribes
- 19. Korwa Tribes
- 20. Kherwar Tribes
- 21. Chero Tribes
- 22. Koya Tribes
- 23. Birhor Tribes
- 24. Parja Tribes
- 25. Mirdha Tribes
- 26. Kishan Tribes
- 27. Chik Baraik Tribes
- 28. Koi Tribes
- 29. Saora Tribes
- 30. Birjia Tribes
- 31. Damdari Tribes
- 32. Bonda Tribes
- 33. Mahil Tribes
- 34. Shabar Tribes

- 35. Kharia Tribes
- 36. Gond Tribes
- 37. Munda Tribes
- 38. Oraon Tribes
- 39. Bedia Tribes
- 40. Santal Tribes
- 41. Bhumij Tribes".

2. The amendment in the list of Scheduled Tribes in respect of State of Assam will entail no additional recurring expenditure from Consolidated Fund of India on account of benefits likely to be provided to the persons belonging to aforementioned communities in State of Assam, out of continuing schemes meant for welfare of Scheduled Tribes. The said expenditure will be accommodated withtin the Annual Plan and non-Plan outlay of this Ministry. **RAJYA SABHA**

A BILL

further to amend the Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order, 1950 to include certain Communities in the list of the Scheduled Tribes in relation to the State of Assam.

(Shri Jual Oram, Minister of Tribal Affairs)

MGIPMRND-3182RS(S3)-08-01-2019.